Research & Collections
The Western Reserve Historical Society documents the history of Northeast Ohio. The collections of the WRHS include museum objects, published materials (rare books, maps, broadsides, etc.), manuscripts (personal papers, records, photographs, etc.), genealogical and family history (funeral home indexes, family bibles, family histories, etc.), and historical properties (see below).
Please use the links to the right to explore the collections.
Historic Properties & Buildings
In 1908 Clara Stone Hay, daughter of Amasa Stone and widow of John Hay, engaged Abram Garfield, youngest son of President Garfield, to design a home for her in the Wade Park Allotment. While the house, with terraced courtyard garden and modern conveniences, was completed in 1911, Mrs. Hay never furnished or occupied the house, preferring to return to New York City on the death of her sister, Flora Stone Mather. Today the Hay-McKinney house is furnished as a series of period galleries exhibiting furniture, decorative and fine arts and domestic artifacts from the Society’s collections.
Between 1916 and 1919 on the land neighboring the Hay-McKinney property, Harry Payne Bingham built a 35 room house designed by Walker and Gillette, with a landscape by Olmsted Brothers and featuring ironwork by Samuel Yellin and tile pavements by Henry Mercer’s Moravian Pottery and Tile Works. Never occupied by the Binghams, who settled in New York , the house was purchased in 1920 by Coralie Walker Hanna, widow of Leonard C. Hanna, who lived there until her death in 1936. In 1940, her son, Leonard C. Hanna, Jr., gave the house to WRHS in return for the Society’s building located at Euclid Ave. and E. 107th St.
Hale Farm & Village
Hale Farm and Village consists of 32 historic buildings. Period crafts are made on the premises, with skilled artisans demonstrating glassblowing, potting, blacksmithing, spinning, weaving, candlemaking and basketmaking. Farm animals are in residence as well with a “stable” of horses, cows and sheep. Hale Farm also presents 1860s Civil War history in our beautiful Village. Each building welcomes you to catch a glimpse of life in the 1860s and shares its past with you first hand.
Shandy Hall is modest in appearance on the exterior, there are 17 rooms inside, including the original cellar kitchen with cooking fireplace, bake oven, and a splendid banquet room with coved ceiling and early nineteenth century scenic French wallpaper. On the grounds, original shrubs and trees shade flower and herb gardens. Virtually all the furniture pieces in the home belonged to the Harpers. The house looks much like it was in the 1830’s when Robert, his wife Polly, and their four daughters lived at Shandy Hall.
Loghurst was home to several families of farmers, each of whom placed their own special marks on the house through additions, interior renovations, and preservation. Today, Loghurst is available for tours and educational programs, and visitors can experience life in a turn of the 20th century farm house, surrounded by the furniture and implements of the Kyle family, the last family to live in the home. Tours of the house introduce visitors to a typical kitchen, dining room and parlor of the period, while sharing lifestyle information and stories from all the house’s previous inhabitants.